Skip to content

From Board Member Lauren Bush

September 30, 2012
by

A little on what Lauren was up to this summer and on things she is doing this year surrounding food:

I’ll be honest, fellow students, half of my summer was spent in a classroom, overlooking the lovely Washington Square Park, while trying to absorb what the professor was saying about multiple regression and econometrics.  The other half was spent in Bobst with my group discussing our research project.  Not really the stuff one would generally brag about, although I did learn more in this summer than I have in all of my collective summers.   Despite all this academic drudgery, I still managed to keep up with my food interests through a collaborative project with Pew Charitable Trusts.  The result was an article published in early July in the NY Daily News, America is Hungry For Safer Food.

Since December 2011, when Obama signed in to law the Food Safety Modernization Act, budget cuts and an agonizingly slow implementation process have resulted in over 250 hospitalizations from food borne illness.  That doesn’t even take into account the hundreds of individuals who were sickened or the vast number of people who never report their illnesses because they don’t realize it is related to food.  This article was meant to keep the light on this critical issue.  As policy students know, attention of the public is the most finite resource of all.  Fingers crossed as a new legislative season begins!

As the school year began and all us food safety advocates were still waiting with bated breath for change, I felt the itch to start a new project.  As a part time student, I don’t always have the time to get involved with as many organizations as I would like.  So, I have made it my mission to volunteer for as many different food-related organizations across NYC throughout this year as possible.  Who needs sleep, right?!?  The first event I have signed up for is the 2012 Hunger Project Gala on October 13th.  I will be helping on the weeknights leading up to the event and then the whole day of the event.  If you are unfamiliar with the Hunger Project, they work tirelessly all over the world to end hunger in a sustainable way, through the empowerment of the individual.  If you want to know more, check them out here.  Stay tuned for a blog post later this month with pictures of the event!

I wish all of you an excellent fall semester and hope to see you at our Food Day events on October 24th!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 39 other followers